The Brunel University African Poetry Prize in partnership with Commonwealth Writers has announced Nigerian poet Romeo Oriogun as the winner of the 5th edition of the prize.

LADIES Only. Read top entertainment, fashion and lifestyle stories on FabWoman

The Prize, considered one of Africa’s major poetry prizes, recently notified the literary community of its change of name from the Brunel University African Poetry Prize to the Brunel International African Poetry Prize.

The judges for this year’s prize are award-winning British-Nigerian writer Bernardine Evaristo as Chair of Judges, acclaimed novelist and poet Chris Abani, Ghanaian-Jamaican writer Dr Kwame Dawes, joint winner of the 2015 prize Safia Elhillo and poet Patricia Jabbeh Wesley.

The Chair of Judges Bernardine Evaristo, said this when the shortlist was announced in March:

“Out of a record-breaking 1200 entries, double the amount we received when the Prize began in 2012, the judges have come up with a shortlist of ten poets who reflect the increased quality and diversity of contemporary African poetry.”

Warsan Shire, whose poems where featured in Beyonce’s second visual album Lemonade, was the inaugural winner of the poem. Also, Nick Makoha who is featured on the shortlist this year was a joint winner of the prize in 2015.

See the shortlisted poets below:

Sahro Ali (Somalia); Leila Chatti (Tunisia); Kayo Chingonyi (Zambia); Saddiq Dzukogi (Nigeria);Yalie Kamara (Sierra Leone); Kechi Nomu(Nigeria); Richard Oduor Oduku (Kenya); Romeo Oriogun (Nigeria); Rasaq Malik (Nigeria); Nick Makoha (Uganda).

Join the conversation. Leave a Comment